Archaeology Timeline

Archaeologists divide time into periods in order to make it easier to understand. Since the last Ice Age ended (about 10,200 years ago) the most important of these periods in Britain are:

  • The Mesolithic or Middle Stone Age began around 10,000 years ago
  • The New Stone Age or Neolithic began around 6,000 years ago
  • The Bronze Age began around 4,000 years ago
  • The Iron Age began around 2,500 years ago
  • Roman Britain began around 2,000 years ago
  • The Medieval period began around 1,500 years ago
  • The Post-medieval period began around 500 years ago

Don’t forget, you can delve into our Excavation Pits and discover 2000 years of York’s history for yourself!